Back in STL

Coming and going from St. Louis around Thanksgiving break is always an experience. The airport and Metrolink just become extensions of campus–you’re bound to run into someone you know from WashU.

The Dunkin’ Donuts in Terminal 2? It’s no different from the cafeteria in Bear’s Den, basically, and the sleeping students scattered around the floor of the airport essentially continue to live life as they would scattered around the dorms of the 40 (or so I think).

The comfort of seeing familiar faces all around at least makes the journey from the airport more fun and eases me in back out of the Real World and into a universe filled with only people my own age and communal laundry facilities.

I’m also excited to note all of the new home improvements in my suite as of tonight, including a Christmas pillow, Christmas lights, and Christmas posters…not that I’m already ready for the next holiday or anything.

I also bought back a blender with which I’ll be making plenty of smoothies in the coming weeks…so get at me finals, I’m ready for you now.

Most importantly though, I just feel so lucky that I’m able to go from one place that I love to another during this holiday season. Coming home and talking to friends made me realize just how awesome it is that I go to a school about which I honestly don’t have a single complaint–not about the people I’ve met or the way it’s run or the classes I’ve taken so far. Maybe I’m just an exceptionally fortunate person in this regard, but I get the feeling a lot of people at WashU feel this way about our campus, too.

With this positive attitude I hope to conquer finals. Here’s to hoping I can keep it up!

Leave a Reply

