Happy New Semester!

Happy New Year and Semester, everyone! After a busy first semester and a tough end to year 2012 with some difficult finals (it was nice that we all survived the Mayan apocalypse without much effort, at the very least), I was so relieved to finally go home and have a few weeks to relax and spend time with my family and friends from my hometown. Other than a brief stint with some pesky wisdom teeth, my winter break was largely uneventful–just the way I wanted it to be.

Though I guess there was also the incident where I managed to ski down a 5,000 foot tall mountain on a former Olympic trail in New York, which was exhilarating (just another word for absolutely terrifying and excruciatingly difficult), but it was so worth it to have been able to see the peaks and expanse of upstate New York (and some of Canada!) covered in about four feet snow on a perfectly sunny day. I’m pretty sure I had some sort of religious experience on the mountain, but I unfortunately didn’t have the battery capacity to record my journey on my camera that day as I rode down the mountain.

I do have these photos of me from the previous day, where I was explored the second-highest mountain peak in Lake Placid with my dad on the day of the actual blizzard…which in itself made for a pretty good view.

IMG_0707 IMG_0705

I’ve resolved this semester that I don’t want the adventures to end here in these photos–my goal this year is to fear less, and to allow myself to have experiences I was formerly hesitant to try. I’m looking forward to spending another semester at WashU that’s hopefully a bit less stressful than the last and will leave me with more time to explore my academic and co-curricular interests peacefully. With that said, I look forward to making time to take a lot more photos and blog more frequently this semester, so get excited for those posts, and, as always, if you have any questions or concerns about student life at WashU, feel free to use the link on the sidebar to contact me!

Leave a Reply

