Breaking News at WashU

I am so proud to be a student at this university right now:

“Nanoparticles carrying a toxin found in bee venom can destroy human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) while leaving surrounding cells unharmed, researchers atWashington University School of Medicine in St. Louis have shown. The finding is an important step toward developing a vaginal gel that may prevent the spread of HIV, the virus that causes AIDS.”

-Julia Strait of the WashU Newsroom

I never imagined that I would have the fortune to read such news in my time on this earth–and I definitely never thought I’d be lucky enough to attend a university that played such an important role in helping us come closer to a cure! Clearly I need to reevaluate my faith in humanity.

In the meantime, while I’m doing that, you should click here to read the rest of the article.

Leave a Reply

