Hello again!

Hi there, everyone!

It’s great to be back and blogging here at WashU!

I have no idea where the time has gone since my first few days as a freshman on the South 40, but at least I know that the past two years, though they have passed by in a blur, have been fun, challenging, and enriching blurs for me.

Now that I’m blogging as junior, I’m living off-campus, making my own food (or trying to, at least), narrowing down my academic goals, and planning to study abroad. Many things have changed in my life as a student here, but some aspects remain the same: whenever I return to campus my soul is flooded with a sense of gratitude for the opportunities that are offered, the incredible people I’ve met and continue to meet, and the support the university provides to help me realize my goals.

In any case, no matter what has changed, I hope to remain a resource to all incoming and prospective students who’d like to know more about the WashU student experience! I’m always available to answer your questions, and I hope to post frequently about the new experiences coming my way as a junior in college. On that note, if you’d ever like me to profile something in particular in campus, just let me know! I’d love to work on whatever you all are interested in.

I’ll start off my posts this year with a profile of my new apartment in the WashU Co-Op, which is an alternative form of housing off-campus for WashU students. Our community, inhabiting 6015 and 6021 on Pershing, is notable for its environmental and sustainability initiatives, social justice work, and commitment to cooperative living, among other joyous festivities like our potlucks, open-mic nights, and parties.

As is stated on our website, the Washington University Cooperative was created in summer of 2005 by a group of design students who wanted to create a community for students to live, cook, work and celebrate together. They took the basement of 6021 Pershing (“The Perry”) and transformed it into a large communal kitchen, dining room and large living area.

Today the Co-op consists of the 6021 Perry and also the 6021 Larry apartment buildings.  Each apartment has a full kitchen and living room and either two or three single person bedrooms.  But the most important space in the Co-op is the basement of the Perry, where members cook, eat, and hang out together.

The Co-op is committed to intentional communities, individual and group activism, sustainable living, artistic creativity, personal openness, non-judgemental acceptance, and generally having a wonderful time.  People living in the co-op find a community where they can be open and friendly with other members without fear of negativity or cliquiness.

So for all of you prospective students who are interested in the subcultures of WashU, here is some insight into where some alternative groups on campus collect (along with photos of my new digs)!

DSC_0519

This is not to say, however, that I don’t also have plenty to say about my two years on the 40 (which were amazing), so if you ever have questions about either, please feel free to ask :)

[Incredible art featured in this post was made by the incredible Georgia McCandlish of WashU Co-Op Fame.]

Leave a Reply

